Overload Alert. Alert alert: this alert is too late.

Sometimes I think computers should be made of Nerf to protect them from frustrated assaults, and to make them comfy when this happens.

Sometimes I think computers should be made of Nerf to protect them from frustrated assaults, and to make them comfy when this happens.

…as evidenced by how complex and convoluted the process of learning how to “pingback,” is.  Of course I agree that we’re exposed to so much daily info that we lose our common sense, for the more frequent and diverse information we are exposed to, the more our sense of what is “common,” begins to change.  This is not to say that we are privy to so much daily data that we are actually getting dumber.  On the contrary, I think people are generally becoming more knowledgeable, open-minded and capable as they are exposed to so many types of information from so many sources.  This inevitably means, however, that people are also diminishing the information and experiences they share in common.  Sure, its common sense to hold the door for a person as they pass through it right after you, but soon enough, more and more will be done remotely, and doors will be walked through less and less, thereby reducing how much that common sense practice is reinforced.

Going back to the pingback thing, I’ve been confused by some little on-line procedure like that so many times now, that I’m developing a tendency to troll the internet for an answer when the “fail-safe, couldn’t-be-easier,” directions prove to be other than.  Thing is, though, I’ll often do this almost immediately, in order to avoid the seemingly endless moments it takes to figure it out myself, even though common sense dictates that one should calmly and deliberately scrutinize one’s problem before running off to find answers elsewhere.  This time, what my experience has taught me to do was a mistake. I was supposed to go to the settings from my dashboard, but instead I went to them from my…I don’t even know.  Reader?  So, my experience caused me to disregard my common sense, and I ran around fruitlessly for a while, when I was only one more click away from where I wanted to be than I thought I was.  My new information betrayed my old common sense.

So yes, I do think that we are bombarded with so much raw data daily that it is costing us our common sense…as it was, but I also think that it is being replaced by a broader sense of what “common,” is.  What that will lead to…who knows?  I’m just happy that after all that, I didn’t forget to include the stupid pingback to the Daily Post’s prompt that inspired the tone of this whole thing.

One response to “Overload Alert. Alert alert: this alert is too late.

  1. You certainly are not the only one to have problems with some of this stuff. It is usually something tiny. Feel really stupid when I figure it out, and like I am the only one. Sorry to say, I’m glad to read of your struggles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

