It’s Got To Be Real

quote-love-and-work-are-the-cornerstones-of-our-humanness-sigmund-freud-65999

Today’s blogging 101 assignment was to make today’s (or any) prompt personal, and even though I love to read, my response only loosely relates to the prompt.

Today’s daily prompt, “The Great Divide–When reading for fun, do you usually choose fiction or non-fiction? Do you have an idea why you prefer one over the other?” made me realize that I lean towards the utilitarian in almost every aspect of my life.  I prefer non-fiction because I feel a need to gain something from a book beyond just the sheer enjoyment of reading it, and that need carries.  Most, if not all, of my passions serve more than a single purpose.  I love to play music because I find it therapeutic, and because its something that others can enjoy.  I love to make people laugh, but  I don’t think I would enjoy it as much if I wasn’t sure that those laughing were also enjoying themselves.  I love exercising and keeping a healthy diet, but I wouldn’t do so if it wasn’t also good for me.  And finally, the big one:  I love, LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE…LOVE BMX, because, on top of how much I enjoy it, its good exercise, and it opens doors to new experiences and people (at least it can, anyway; hasn’t as of yet, but hey, that’s part of why I’m blogging about it).

Now, I totally enjoy the occasional fiction book, or video game, or weekend of sedentary consumption of mass quantities as much as the next man, possibly more, but at the end of the day, I have to know that how I’ve spent my time could have been of some contribution somewhere.

I feel like I sound like a joyless pragmatist, but for better or worse, for the right reasons or not, that’s the side of the great divide on which I land.

I wonder how many other people ever feel the same way I do

…or does it?

…and how many people feel that the way I feel is folly.

2 responses to “It’s Got To Be Real

Leave a Reply

